Skip to content

With the Sea Otter Classic in just one week, all eyes were on the challenging, technical roads in Northern California’s tough Sonoma coastal mountains.

Lauren De Crescenzo and Keegan Swenson win “The Growler”, a new 140mi professional road race, created by the Bike Monkey, the promotional group behind the long-running Levi’s Gran Fondo. 

De Crescenzo took off with 80mi to go on a day marked with constant, cold rain, winning by 12mins over Lauren Stephens with Sarah Sturm in 3rd. 

Belgian Lawrence Naesen pushed Swenson all the way to the line, losing in a tight sprint to the US Gravel National Champion overall winner of the ‘22 and ‘23 Life Time Grand Prix. LTGP rookie, Petr Vakoc continues his successful spring campaign with 3rd just 17 seconds back.


  1. Lauren De Crescenzo
  2. Lauren Stephens
  3. Sarah Sturm
  4. Flavia Oliveira Parks
  5. Emily Newsom
  6. Heather Jackson
  7. Maude Farrell
  8. Sophie Von Eckstaedt
  9. Isabel King
  10. Leah Van Der Linden


  1. Keegan Swenson
  2. Lawrence Naesen
  3. Petr Vakoč
  4. Ian Boswell
  5. Griffin Easter
  6. Pete Stetina
  7. Matthew Wiebe
  8. Matthew Zimmer
  9. Elouan Gardon
  10. Nick Spano

ICYMI: Round #1 of the Life Time Grand Prix presented by Mazda BEGINS ON FRIDAY

Take a look back at the previous two editions of the Sea Otter Classic, Fuego XL endurance MTB race in two episodes of “Call of a Life Time”, the widely acclaimed docu-series chronicling riders competing in the ground-breaking off-road race series. 

With the new season starting up, make sure you follow our new approach to bringing you world class race coverage by following @lifetimegrandprix on YouTube

Gomez Villafane and Stetina take BWR UT

Continuing to build on her run of victories this spring, following Valley of Tears and BWR AZ, Villafane took the win with a huge gap over Courtney Sherwell and fellow LTGP rider Emily Newsom

On the men’s side, Pete Stetina grabs a big win over Canadians Roberge and L‘Esperance in chilly temps on the truncated course in Cedar City, UT

BWR Utah Women’s Top 10*

  1. Sofia Gomez Villafane, 5h 19m 03.53s
  2. Courtney Sherwell 5h 32m 14.25s
  3. Emily Newsom 5h 32m 58.89s
  4.  Hannah Otto, 5h 33m 48.50s
  5. Caroline Wreszin, 5h 37m 42.37s
  6. Cecily Decker, 5h 39m 39.71s
  7. Whitney Allison, 5h 40m 02.14s
  8. Eva Poidevin, 5h 45m 21.15s
  9. Cassia Boglio, 5h 46m 59.34s
  10. Diana Penuela, 5h 49m 04.68s

BWR Utah Men’s Top 10*

  1. Peter Stetina, 4h 53m 48.30s
  2. Adam Roberge, 4h 54m 33.58s
  3. Andrew L’Esperance, 4h 55m 14.26s
  4. Julien Gagne, 4h 55m 14.54s
  5. Torbjorn Andre Roed, 4h 55m 14.69s
  6. Joe Goettl, 4h 58m 31.09s
  7. Kyle Trudeau, 4h 58m 34.07s
  8. Cobe Freeburn, 4h 58m 35.21s
  9. Bjorn Larson, 4h 58m 38.57s
  10. Griffin Easter, 4h 58m 40.78s

*LTGP Athletes indicated in BOLD


LTGP athletes Kristen Legan and Heather Jackson joined the Life Time team in Emporia, KS to put on the annual UNBOUND Gravel Training Camp — where riders from across the country come to learn from the best about how to tackle the World’s Premier Gravel Race. 


LTGP rookie and Boulder native, Finn Gullickson took a wind-shortened version of one of America’s original mixed-surface races.

Moab Rocks

Deanna Myles and Michaela Thompson finish in 3rd and 6th overall respectively behind uber-decorated and longtime pro, Katerina Nash

PoDcast Mentions

Hannah Otto and Kristen Legan, both featured in this year’s Life Time Grand Prix, join hosts Kristi Mohn and Kathryn Taylor on the Girls Gone Gravel Podcast


With not much racing over the weekend, check out Jenna Rinehart’s chilly, winter ride while searching for the Easter bunny and a MONSTER ride from Payson McElveen in Northwest Arkansas


From the Ground Up Project got underway for it’s 3rd year at a skills camp in Bentonville, AR and lead by LTGP perennial favorite Alexey Vermuelen.


LTGP Rookie but well-known to his fellow competitors, including 2nd place at UNBOUND 2023, Petr Vakoc also raced Cape Epic, finishing top-10 overall for the second time. Whether it’s road racing, gravel or MTB, Petr can do it all!


Listen in as athletes and organizers from the LTGP give the inside scoop on 2024’s season.

 Absa Cape Epic Wraps up

Matt Beers and Howard Grotts (Toyota-Specialized-NinetyOne) claimed the overall title after 603km (375mi) and 16050m (53,000ft) of climbing. Beers becomes a 3x winner while Grotts takes his 2nd Cape Epic title, 6yrs after his first.

On the women’s side, LTGP riders finished strong behind the dominating performance of the Ghost Factory Racing duo, Anne Terpstra and Nicole Koller, who won all 8 stages and captured GC. Sofia Gomez Villafane and Samara Sheppard of Toyota-Specialized-NinetyOne finished 3rd Overall

LTGP rookie Jordan Schleck (Team Amani) paired up with Lachlan Morton (EF/EasyPost). Schleck, represents the off-road portion of an exciting the latest generation of African riders showcasing their talents. Morton, a Cape Epic veteran who last joined Keegan Swenson, often spends early-season time with the Amani squad in Kenya attending their camps and competing in the Migration Race, part of the Gravel Earth Series.


LTGP athletes Bradyn Lange and Sean Fincham had good showings at the Orange Seal Pro Cup in Temecula, CA, with Lange securing a 3rd place and Fincham 6th in the Elite Men’s XCO


LTGP athletes Lauren Stephens and Emily Newsom went 1-2 in the Rattlesnake Gravel Grind in Sweetwater, TX. 

Dry and Dusty conditions for MidSouth Gravel

Lauren de Crencenzo takes top step in the women’s race while 2024 rookie Torbjorn Roed sprints for the win

Life Time Grand Prix Athletes Headline Cape Epic

Cape Epic kicked off over the weekend with reigning LTGP overall winner Sofia Gomez Villafane joining ’24 rookie Samara Sheppard. But they’re not the only story: the renowned MTB stage race has 10 LTGP riders competing from across the globe.


Swenson and Gomez Villafane are off to a fast start in ’24 with wins at Valley of Tears. LTGP rookies Chase Wark and Finn Gullickson rounded out the men’s podium while veterans Jenna Rinehart and Emily Newsom rounded out the women’s.


LTGP rookie Lauren Stephens solos to win stage 3 of Tour de Normandie on her road bike.

Back To Top